How to Abstract Pentangle (or whatever you want to call it)

Hey guys,

So last post I explained why I have beef with this whole business of “zentangling.”

I’ll just do a quick recap: basically zentangling is to structured to be actually fun. It is too caught up with the “meditativeness” and how it can be used as a kind of therapy. But seriously, everyone doodles. If you have not doodled in math class, I hope you’re now an aerospace engineer, because let’s face it, math class can be boring.  Anyways, call it what you like, pentangling, zentangling, doodling, it all comes down to you and your implement of choice.

This is the is the first in a series of posts on pentangling, and it covers how to do abstract pentangling (non-representational)

So let’s get started!!

Weapons of Choice

Just grab a pen and a piece of blank paper! Come on, don’t be lazy! Do it now or you’ll forget about it (this is what I tell myself when I discover how to do something on the internet)

A great place to find patterns is http://tanglepatterns.com/, although it can be quite confusing to use. I just click on random letters as the patterns are organized by name and pick ones I like.

Have fun, and remember, there is no messing up!!

IMAG0601

Step one: Draw a circle or any other shape it can even be just a line!)

IMAG0602

Step two: draw whatever pattern you want in it to give you a guide and divide it into different patterns

IMAG0603

Step three: start filling it in with whatever patterns you want. It helps to divide it into a few different sections.

IMAG0604

When in doubt, outline!!

IMAG0605

Stripes with a twist

IMAG0606

If it looks to empty, fill it in!

The finished product! Dont forget to sign it!

The finished product!
Dont forget to sign it!

Leave a comment